My Second Home

Less than 2 years ago, I checked into King Edward VII Hall. Checked into this small little hole of about 3m by 3m. I was impressed by the L-shaped table and that was about it. The moment I stepped into the room, I wanted to check out and just forget about experiencing hall and just go home and enjoy the comfort. It was so so dusty and my mum and I had to mop/clean the surfaces/floor about 11 times. Seriously?! Brought in my bolster and pillow and tried to comfort myself that I was about to have more privacy. My initial plan was to stay for 2 weeks then check out if I cannot adapt.

Being the anti-social me, I hanged out with KAPPA (my og) and was not very friendly toward my neighbours but the ice was broken when Inter-Block Games came and Sophia wanted to study-.- Night after night we played different sports and without realising, E3 was unseparable.

School soon became non-existent and trainings took over my life. Late night suppers and just talking crap caused me to miss classes. I screwed up my school-play balance but at that point, I didn’t care. I was enjoying life:)

Now, it is finally my turn to move out of hall. I will no longer own a room in hall. No longer have a hole I can retreat into. No longer have aim of IHG to work towards. No longer have neighbours who I can randomly BOO and scare them. No longer be able to bathe beside my friends. No longer.. No longer..No longer…

As I was packing up, I couldn’t help but just break down. It just hit upon me that my life will have this gaping hole that nothing can fill. All these times will be memories and something that I will never experience again. I didn’t know it would hurt this much. I haven’t succeeded in getting the gold for TRUG and SQUASH and I no longer have the chance to. Bloody painful. F***.

Everyone I have met through hall has contributed to my hall experience, something which I would trade nothing for. Though it was short, I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you for being in hall when I was in hall. Thank you thank you thank you.

Trug 12/13 & 13/14, 57th JCRC, E3 girls, half of G5, Squash 12/13 & 13/14, KEWOC 13/14, SMC 13/14, Frisbee 12/13 & 13/14, Netball 13/14, Handball 13/14, Soccer 12/13, OCIP Laos 12/13, KAPPA, Sports captains, MAB 12/13, CSS 13/14, Sports Council 13/14, just everyone in general, THANK YOU, I ENJOYED MYSELF TO THE FULLEST.

Don’t want to specially mention anyone because the list is just too long (i typed and deleted everything cause it went on and on and on), anyone whom I have interacted with, thank you and I will miss you guys.

Don’t know if I will have the time to come back, suffering right now cause my first 2 years of school were non-existent, but even if I do, it will no longer be the same.

Farewell my second home.

Leave a Reply

